As well as picking up a yellow card, Luiz was guilty of a late and intentional barge on Chichartio, after the ball had gone. Then, as Rooney was running in to the box, Luiz stuck a leg out and tripped him. The referee didn’t punish either of these things.

Carlo Ancelotti has admitted his player was lucky to stay on the pitch, particularly considering Chelsea would have gone down to 10 men when the score was still 1-1.

“David Luiz could be lucky but there was a lot going on on the pitch so the referee decided he didn’t see this.”




------------
The RoM 2016-17 Season Preview is available for just £5. It includes an EXCLUSIVE interview with Mikael Silvestre, a Q&A with the country's top journalists about our transfer targets, articles by brilliant United writers, and so much more. All profit goes to Trafford Macmillan so please support this fantastic cause.