Manchester United showed great spirit last night in coming back from being 3-1 down to collect a point at 3-3.

With Igor Akinfeev putting in another superb performance, United were left to wait until the dying minutes before sealing their place in the knock-out stages of the Champions League.

A big talking point of the match came just after the restart and two minutes after CSKA made it 2-1, when Darren Fletcher was tripped by goalscorer Berezutsky in the box. It was a clear foul but the referee opted to book Fletch for diving!

Fletcher missed out on last year’s Champions League final after the referee wrongly dished out a red card in our 3-1 victory over Arsenal last season at the Emirates. He’s hoping this season he will have better luck with cards!

“It’s a penalty,” Fletcher said after the match. “I turned in the box and the lad just took my feet. I didn’t try to fall, he just swept me. When the referee blew his whistle I thought, great we’ve got a penalty and then he started walking towards me with a yellow card – I couldn’t believe it. Hopefully my luck will change in the latter stages!”




------------
The RoM 2017-18 Season Preview is available for just £5. It includes an EXCLUSIVE interview with Paul Scholes, a Q&A with the country's top journalists about our transfer targets, articles by brilliant United writers, and so much more. All profit goes to Trafford Macmillan so please support this fantastic cause.