In his pre-match press conference today, ahead of Manchester United’s game against Leicester on Sunday, Louis van Gaal tried to play down the question about whether it was strange for our team to be hosting the potential champions.

In doing so, he made an idiot out of himself, claiming the players in our squad aren’t used to be champions, despite the fact we have loads of title winners in the team.

The players who are now playing, they are not used to being champions. I don’t think Matteo Darmian is used to being a champion and David De Gea was never champion, so I don’t agree with the way you make the question. Memphis Depay was a champion last year [with PSV Eindhoven] so not many players…Rooney, Carrick, they have been the champions once, or maybe more than once.

David de Gea – 2013
Phil Jones – 2013
Marcos Rojo – 2011
Memphis Depay – 2015
Juan Mata – (never won the league with Chelsea, but won the Champions League in 2012)
Anthony Martial – N/A
Wayne Rooney – 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011 and 2013
Chris Smalling – 2011 and 2013
Michael Carrick – 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011 and 2013
Daley Blind – 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014
Ashley Young – 2013
Sergio Romero – 2009
Ander Herrera – N/A
Luke Shaw – N/A
Antonio Valencia – 2011 and 2013
Marouane Fellaini – 2008
Morgan Schneiderlin – N/A
Bastian Schweinsteiger – 2003, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2013, 2014 and 2015
Matteo Darmian – N/A

Made in Manchester is available for just £5. It includes 30 articles from the country's best football writers about graduates from the Manchester United academy. Everyone who buys a copy enters a competition to win the new home shirt. All profit goes to Trafford Macmillan so please support this fantastic cause.
amazon smaller