rss twitter facebook mobile

Manchester United’s Reserve Team Player of the Year is…

The Denzil Haroun Reserve Player of the Year Award goes to Adnan Januzaj, which was won by Michael Keane last year, and the likes of Darren Fletcher and Nicky Butt in the past.

“It’s a great feeling to be Player of the Year,” he said. “I’ve been working hard and I want to thank all the players and fans. It’s hard to be integrated when you first come to the club but I had a good teacher and started playing better and enjoying it. I’ve shown people what I can do this year and I am really proud to be Player of the Year.”

The Jimmy Murphy Young Player of the Year trophy was awarded to midfielder Ben Pearson, which was won by Mats Møller Dæhli last year, and the likes of Ryan Giggs and Paul Scholes in the past.

About Scott

Scott is the editor of Red Matters - 50 Years of Supporting Manchester United and an author of Play Like Fergie's Boys and Not Nineteen Forever. He writes for ESPN, The Metro and Bleacher Report. Follow @R_o_M on Twitter.

View all posts by Scott »



  1. ianoha says:

    Top lad and has loads of skill..time to beef up now and make the step up good luck to him…

  2. Costas says:

    Congrats to Adnan, as well as Ben.

  3. Hans says:

    Well done lad!!!

  4. Dazbomber says:

    I saw him play a few weeks ago in the flesh , the lad is class . He will only get stronger and better there are big hopes for him . I have no doubt he will be a first team player.

  5. Lawman10 says:

    I see that cunt John terry is in full kit once again regardless he has played no part
    In the game,
    What a cunt !!!!!!!!

  6. belfast red. says:

    Congratz. hope to see more off him nxt season looks like a quality player. Off topic. i just heard terry is out in his kit again. im not wotching them cunts. But am i being wound up or what? surely not again lol

  7. slim says:

    Dont mean to g go off topic so quickly but God, JT is a cunt.
    Chelsea are turning out to be a Cup team. They’re racking em up

  8. belfast red. says:

    Lawman. i thought some1 was winding me up. Hes a fucking Muppet. and im glad hes done that. shows that hes a classless man.

  9. slim says:

    Lol looks like he’s crying inside. What a cunt. Kitted up and all. Sure i can see some grease smeared on face too. what a cunt

  10. mjc RED says:

    Terry in full kit just like last year and cup tied Demba Ba walking up to collect the cup. These fucking clown, you couldn’t make it up with these shameless bastards!

  11. slim says:

    Right. Adnan. Surprsed to hear the gaffer give him a mention a month or so ago.
    Thought maybe he’d get a look in, one game left so we’ll see.
    Keep an eye out Vermijl, Pereira and Adnan . There’s a whole host to be honest. Keane and Cole are quality too

  12. Lawman10 says:

    Terry makes my blood boil, has he no shame?
    Never mind cunt of the week, he’s cunt of the season by a country mile!!!!!

  13. Lawman10 says:

    Back to Uniteds kids the future is going to be hang on to your seats,

  14. samuel - united WE stand says:

    Adnan.. Lad has a lot of potential, has class on the ball in abundance, a creative playmaking force. I think and hope he’ll be amongst the first team next season, he hasn’t got enough world class midfielders stopping him from getting into the team. Powell, Larnell cole, lingard will hopefully get their chances. tunni and nick powell too. I’ve also noticed how well michael keane has played on loan, could be part of the first team. Wondering how will keane is recovering? Zaha is coming in as wel. So many more younger players and with moyes taking over, they all will have a chance.

  15. samuel - united WE stand says:

    Oh and let me add henriquez on loan at wigan, not really been given the chance to impress to be honest but another player with potential

  16. King Eric says:

    Adnan is top drawer but I’m a fan of Pearson. Great little player. Gets stuck in and is box to box. Clever player.

  17. King Eric says:

    Samuel. Don’t get me started on Henriques mate. Total waste of time this loan spell.

  18. tutech888 says:

    Reserve matches have been more refreshing with the likes of Adnan, Lingard and Cole. They are pure class. With a little more muscle, they could be great additions to the squad. Ben Pearson also impresses with the way he takes responsibility on the pich always. A great one to watch for. The future sure is bright. GGMU

  19. Costas says:

    Carrick won Players’ player of the year. Well deserved.

  20. samuel - united WE stand says:

    King Eric – think the fact wigan were fighting relentlessly against relegation counted against henriquez, a waste of loan spell and should be handed another loan spell at a PL club in which he’ll get chances. He has top potential and at 18, has time to hopefully develop.

  21. TheCANTONA says:

    adnan januzaj, the scousers couldnt handle him last night, has a lot of potential this kid really is.
    @samuel yeah i wonder about will keane’s recovery progress as well, his twins, michael made a good impression at leicester this season. as for henriquez, loaning him out to wigan is a bad move, should’ve stay at reserve this season imho, but at least the kid has won one FA Cup medal. haha!!

  22. glasgowred says:

    Carrick totally deserved it.

    Congrats to Chelsea. Btw what Terry did today, Rooney was no different during the title celebrations. Sat out the whole match, not even on the bench, but still showed up in full kit to collect the medal.

  23. NBI Red Onion says:

    Guys Rooney was in his kit too to get the league cup, can we throw stones,,,,?

    Adnan – I have very rarely been moved to call it on a youth team player, but here’s my best, one day this guy will be a world class player and in contention for top award in football. I think he is actually incredibly good, he has that extra something.

  24. MrKirie says:

    Was thinking the same NBI. Whats so terrible about kitting up and collecting the trophy. And who the f*** cares? Spend your energy on something that matters

  25. FletchTHEMAN says:

    Henriquez was unlucky. These loans are incredibly iffy affairs. Clubs like wigan have to play their top, most fit, lads. Henriquez will get his chances. Maybe to Hull next season. Bruce usually does well by his loanees.

  26. Sam says:

    Adnan Januzaj is encompasses what football should be. Amazing balance and touch, he’s only going to get better as he becomes comfortable in his own skin. I hope he breaks into the first team squad next year.

  27. Erblir says:

    i thins he is Albanian..


You must be logged in to post a comment.