Marcus Rashford came third behind Kylian Mbappe and Ousmane Dembele in the annual Golden Boy award. The honour recognises the best player in Europe under the age of 21. Anthony Martial won the award in 2015 and Paul Pogba in 2013.

Rashford finished ahead of Manchester City’s Gabriel Jesus who turns 21 this season. Jesus had initially been named in the three man shortlist, following the initial whittling down to 24 players. However,

2003 Rafael van der Vaart
2004 Wayne Rooney
2005 Lionel Messi
2006 Cesc Fàbregas
2007 Sergio Agüero
2008 Anderson
2009 Alexandre Pato
2010 Mario Balotelli
2011 Mario Götze
2012 Isco
2013 Paul Pogba
2014 Raheem Sterling
2015 Anthony Martial
2016 Renato Sanches
2017 Kylian Mbappé