Every single player who has won the Ballon d’Or from the English league has played for Manchester United.

1956: Stanley Matthews (Blackpool at the time)
1964: Denis Law
1966: Bobby Charlton
1968: George Best
2001: Michael Owen (Liverpool at the time)
2008: Cristiano Ronaldo

Matthews was a war time guest player for United whilst Owen is a current United player. I realise these links are rather tenuous but it’s a nice little stat regardless.

Nevertheless, it’s impressive that United are so well represented for this award.

1967: Bobby Charlton
1968: Bobby Charlton
1999: David Beckham
2007: Cristiano Ronaldo

1957: Duncan Edwards (21-years-old)
1971: George Best
1993: Eric Cantona

Current Players
2002: Rio Ferdinand (21st)
2004: Wayne Rooney (8th)
2007: Wayne Rooney (26th), Ryan Giggs (30th).
2008: Wayne Rooney (13th), Nemanja Vidic (21st), Edwin Van der Sar (22nd),
2009: Wayne Rooney (8th), Ryan Giggs (14th), Nemanja Vidic (16th).

nb. Sadly, this award is entirely worthless though, as Paul Scholes’ absence proves the best players in Europe aren’t accurately awarded.

The RoM 2018-19 Season Preview is available for just £6. It includes an EXCLUSIVE interview with Juan Mata, a Q&A with the country's top journalists, articles by brilliant United writers, and so much more. All profit goes to Trafford Macmillan so please support this fantastic cause.