Former Premier League referee David Elleray said the referee’s interpretation depends on whether the hand or arm is in an “unnatural” position at the point of contact. “Referees look at two specifics – did the hand or arm go towards the ball or in a manner which would block the ball, or is the hand in a position where it would not normally be?”

Robbie Savage, commentating on BT Sport, claimed it was never a penalty, while Howard Webb, said it was. Why Chancel Mbemba have his arm up in the air in the penalty area? Savage, bitter from when Sir Alex Ferguson sent him home in tears as a school boy when he said he wasn’t good enough to play for United, would probably argue against a penalty in United’s favour even if Mbemba caught the ball. Nailed on pen.