Dimitri Payet was booked after 55 minutes for fouling Jesse Lingard. 10 minutes later, he went down in the box under a challenge from Marcos Rojo.

Louis van Gaal claimed Payet had dived after the game while Slaven Bilic, unsurprisingly, argued he didn’t.

Referee Martin Atkinson didn’t award a penalty, but then also didn’t book Payet for diving. The laws of the game claim a yellow card should be given to players who “attempt to deceive the referee by pretending to be fouled.” Does Rojo foul Payet? Making the slightest of contact with a player in the penalty area is not a foul, and would only be so if the player was running at such a pace that the contact knocks him off balance. As you can see from the video below, Payet was going to ground before Rojo got near him, in anticipation of claiming for a penalty.

Two minutes later, Payet scored West Ham’s only goal of the game. Should he have been on the pitch?

Two years ago, Payet was sent off for Marseille after getting a second yellow for a dive against Borussia Dortmund.




------------
The RoM 2016-17 Season Preview is available for just £5. It includes an EXCLUSIVE interview with Mikael Silvestre, a Q&A with the country's top journalists about our transfer targets, articles by brilliant United writers, and so much more. All profit goes to Trafford Macmillan so please support this fantastic cause.