article-2354497-047806EC000005DC-623_634x460Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d’Or for the fifth time in seven years, with 41.33% of the vote. Cristiano Ronaldo came second with 27.76% and Neymar was third with 7.86%.

Wayne Rooney, as England captain, was given a vote. He put Messi first, Thomas Muller second and Cristiano Ronaldo third. Roy Hodgson, as England manager, chose Ronaldo first, Messi second and Eden Hazard third. Henry Winter, chief football writer at The Times, voted for Messi, Ronaldo then Neymar.

Messi, as Argentina’s captain, voted for Luis Suarez, Neymar then Andres Iniesta. Cristiano Ronaldo, as Portugal’s captain, voted for Karim Benzema, James Rodriguez then Gareth Bale. Neymar, as Brazil’s captain, voted for Messi, Suarez then Ivan Rakitic.

The RoM 2016-17 Season Preview is available for just £5. It includes an EXCLUSIVE interview with Mikael Silvestre, a Q&A with the country's top journalists about our transfer targets, articles by brilliant United writers, and so much more. All profit goes to Trafford Macmillan so please support this fantastic cause.