Glory Glory Man Utd! Since being founded in 1878, Manchester United have played in 124 seasons (counting the 2022-23 season) and over 5,800 competitive matches. Over the years, the team have won a record 20 league titles, 12 FA Cups and not to mention, a record 21 FA Community Shields.

As you would expect, with so many triumphs to their name, Manchester United wouldn’t be where they are today without their footballing legends who once called the club their home. While there have been hundreds upon hundreds of players who have made appearances for The Red Devils, there is a certain cream of the crop who have stood out and cemented themselves as legends. Here we will dive into some of the greatest footballing legends who have played for Manchester United, and how they shaped the club into what it’s become today.

George Best

George Best is the benchmark by which every Utd number seven is measured. Best is a true legend of football who regrettably never got to play on the biggest platform of them all (the World Cup). If there is one memory that sticks out from Best, it’s him scoring the winning goal in extra time in the European Cup final against Benfica in 1968. During his 11 years at Old Trafford, Best won 2 First Division titles, 1 European Cup, and 2 Community Shields. The footballing legend passed away in 2005 and to this day will always be known as one of the biggest stars of the football world.

Cristiano Ronaldo

Arguably one of, if not the most famous footballer in the world, we couldn’t possibly leave Cristiano Ronaldo off the Manchester United legends list! Starting his sporting career at 18 years old in 2003, Ronaldo left Manchester United as the most expensive player of all time! During his reign at the club, Ronaldo scored 42 goals and helped the team win their 2nd consecutive Premier League title. While with United, Ronaldo won the Ballon d’Or as the globe’s best player in 2008. In 2021, Ronaldo made a return to Manchester United and is currently playing in the 2022-23 season. Before you catch Ronaldo in action at the next match, you may want to play some football-themed online casino games. Check out the UK’s Top 10 Best Online Casinos – Online Casino UK Guide so you can play on a reputable platform and potentially score huge cash jackpots.

Paul Scholes

Paul Scholes is another Manchester United legend who deserves a spot on our list. So much so, Fergie brought him out of retirement he was that impressed with him, to attempt to halt City from scoring the 2011-12 Premier League title. Scholes’s game reading, vision are rarely matched. Many fans regard him as one of the best strikers the club has ever had. Scholes is also ranked highly on Manchester United Legends on FIFA 22. When playing for Manchester United, Scholes enjoyed 10 Premier League wins, 2 Champions League trophies, 3 FA Cup titles, and 2 League Cup triumphs. We can’t miss off 5 Community Shields, 1 Club World Cup, and 1 Intercontinental Cup either!

Wayne Rooney

Wayne Rooney started as he wanted to go on by scoring an impressive hat-trick and assisting on his debut against Fenerbahce at the tender age of 18. Not only did Rooney win every award possible at Manchester United, but he also managed to break Sir Bobby Charlton’s long-lasting goalscoring record by finishing with an amazing 253 goals for the club. During his time at the club, Rooney won 5 Premier League titles, the 2015-16 FA Cup, and who could forget the 2008 Champions League!

Roy Keane

Roy Keane played for The Red Devils between 1993 and 2005. During his 12-year stint, Keane was renowned for his clashes with Arsenal’s captain Patrick Vieira and his fierce temper. Regarding the best individual player performances, Keane’s efforts against Juventus in the Champion League’s 1999 semi-final ranks highly. While there have been more gifted midfielders along the way, very few have been as effective as Keane. Before leaving Manchester United, Keane achieved Premier League wins, a Champions League title, and 4 FA Cup titles.

Denis Law

Denis Law is known as Manchester United’s second all-time scorer. Throughout his time at Man Utd, Law scored an incredible 237 goals, while scoring 46 of them in a single season! The football legend formed one-third of the Holy Trinity, alongside Best and Charlton. At Manchester United, Law won 2 First Division titles and 1 European Cup. A surprising fact about Denis Law is he is the only man to have two statues dedicated to him at Old Trafford! One can be found as part of the United Holy Trinity, with the other being on the Stretford End concourse.

Rio Ferdinand

During his 12 successful years at Manchester United, Rio Ferdinand certainly proved himself as one of the finest defenders in the football world. Making 455 appearances for the Reds, Ferdinand won 6 Premier League titles, a FIFA Club World Cup, and 1 European Cup. Ferdinand will forever be remembered at Old Trafford as a giant of modern football and is widely known as one of the best defenders the club has ever had.

Bobby Charlton

Last but by no means least, Bobby Charlton had to make an appearance on our United legends list. To date, nobody has scored more goals for the club than Sir Bobby, with an impressive 249! The legend also made 758 appearances on the pitch. Winning the UEFA Ballon d’Or in 1966, Charlton is known as one of the world’s greatest goalscoring midfielders. During his time as a red, Charlton enjoyed 4 First Division wins, a European Cup win, 4 Charity Shields, and a 1963 FA Cup win. While Charlton may have retired from football many moons ago, he will forever be known as one of the greatest Manchester United legends.

However old you are or how long you’ve been following The Red Devils, if you know your history about all things Man U, the legends above will be surely ingrained in your mind. While many players come and go, there are a special few who leave a long-lasting impression and legacy that most footballers could only dream of.