Gareth Southgate has named a 24-man squad for next month’s Nations League games against Iceland and Denmark and Mason Greenwood has been included.

The 18-year-old has enjoyed an impressive debut campaign, scoring 17 goals for Manchester United’s first team this season.

Gareth Southgate explained the decision to include youngsters like Greenwood and Manchester City’s Phil Foden in the squad.

“They’ve both shown, in big matches and at big clubs, they’re talented boys,” he said. “They’re both hugely exciting players I think. I think they’re part of England’s future. We felt now is a good time. We’re a year away from a European Championship. Let’s see if they can start to break into that squad — they’re realistic challengers.”

Before now, Greenwood has represented England at U-15, U-16, U-18 and U-21 level. When he had just turned 18, he played for the U-21s and scored against the Netherlands in a friendly.

Harry Maguire has spent the day in court in Greece after an altercation in Mykonos. Reports suggest that his sister was stabbed. Southgate reveals he has spoken to the United captain and says there is nothing to worry about in regards to his conduct.

“It’s clearly a decision that is not straightforward and a decision I could only take on the information I have,” he said. “I’ve spoke to Harry. I have the insight to the story which is very different to what is being reported. You can only make decisions on facts you are aware of. If info changes down the line, I have to review that decision. I have a fantastic relationship with the boy. I’ve not reason to doubt what he’s telling me.”

Aaron Wan-Bissaka was a surprise omission from the squad though. Only one player in the Premier League completed more tackles and interceptions combined him last season, although his threat going forward has been questioned by United fans.

Squad: Tammy Abraham (Chelsea), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Mason Greenwood (Manchester United), Dean Henderson (Manchester United), Danny Ings (Southampton), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Michael Keane (Everton), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds United), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Burnley), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Declan Rice (West Ham United), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton), Harry Winks (Tottenham Hotspur).