The PFA Merit Award was given to Manchester United’s class of ’92 at Sunday night’s PFA Awards.

Ryan Giggs, Eric Harrison, Sir Alex Ferguson, Paul Scholes, George Switzer, Kevin Pilkington, Phil Neville, Chris Casper, Nicky Butt, John O’Kane and Gary Neville were all present to receive the award.

This group of players won the FA Youth Cup in 1992, with Nicky Butt, David Beckham, Ben Thornley, Simon Davies and Colin McKee scoring over two legs. 15,000 people were in attendance at Old Trafford for the victorious second leg.

“We trialled in Albert Park every night,” Ferguson said. “We were turning top players away and we ended up with this mob! No club in the country is better at producing players than Manchester United.”