Robin van Persie has come 2nd, narrowly behind Gareth Bale, in this season’s Football Writers’ Association award. Chelsea’s Juan Mata finished 3rd but some way behind Van Persie.

The winner is selected by a vote amongst the members of the FWA, which comprises around 400 football journalists based throughout England.