Will Keane has been named the Jimmy Murphy Player of the Year, an award previously won by the likes of Ryan Giggs, Paul Scholes, Phil Neville, Wes Brown, and more recently, Darron Gibson, Danny Welbeck and Federico Macheda.

Keane, who is part of the Under-18s, helped his side win the regional championship by beating Everton 2-0, and a national play-off semi-final against Arsenal is ahead.

“Will has been such a smooth operator in his first year,” said coach Paul McGuinness. “He’s been really outstanding and has scored some stunning goals but his general team play and his demeanour, his attitude on and off the pitch, have been excellent.”

Ritchie De Laet was awarded with the Denzil Haroun Reserve Player of the Year.

“I’m happy, of course,” he said. “It’s my second year and we’ve had a good season with the reserves. We’ve won two trophies, and the Senior Cup at the beginning as well, so it’s been a good season all round.”